KELCEY WALLACE AND THE DECISION

THE ANSWER

 

If anyone took their time to think about some of the most life altering decisions upon her, it was Kelcey Wallace. Concentrating on her in-ring return, Peyton Rice’s United States Championship match and making sure The Wonderland and Sienna Swann pay for their actions. Her and Owen had one job, wrestle and defeat them, at the same time Karina was with Mr. D watching the show. Kelcey was preparing for her return to action, she wasn’t in Peyton’s corner and her young protégé lost. The Main Event didn’t go as she had hoped, it was a double count out, she performed against Sienna and The Wonderland the best she has since the days where Kelcey was at her prime. Her body was in the best shape ever, and she came to fight. Unfortunately, there were sinister plans that ended with Karina being taken by Sierra Swann, Sienna’s younger sister, the last EMERGE Rush Champion and talented wrestler who surprisingly turned up and after that….

Things went awry.

 

Few Days After Last Laugh

Long Beach Marina

 

Blake Mason pulled into the parking lot. Returning from Arizona after staying behind to do some SCW related work. He was under the impression that Kelcey was still there with Peyton especially after the match had turned out, but when he walked up on the deck of his Yacht, he saw a familiar figure lying on the hammock. Wearing a patterned long sundress, barefoot with her nails polished a bright matte red, her long sandy blonde hair slicked back behind a bandana, a glass of win in her hand, hung over the edge along with her leg, foot kicking off the deck to ass a little swing to the hammock…

 

Blake: “Kelcey?”

 

She slowly sits up, turning over her left shoulder to face Blake in his Polo shirt, shorts, and loafers no socks, still carrying his luggage.

 

KelceyCastPic-BlakeBlake: “I thought you were in Arizona still with Peyton? Maybe with Mr. D, looking for Karina? I was for sure that you wouldn’t be back for at least a few more days. Is everything alright?”

Kelcey: “Peyton is with family, Mr. D told me to go home, that he would handle the situation, when I refused, he became a bit angry, not at me, at the whole situation. I felt it was best that I came home. I had Chris take of Nathaniel, so I decided to stay the night here, hope you don’t mind.”

Blake: “Mind? Of course not, you know that. Is everything alright? I figured you would stay home, with Scott.”

 

She snickers some hearing his name, following up with a sip of wine. There was obviously some off here with her, Blake could see that, dropping his luggage he walked over to the hammock, by now she was sitting up, he took his place next to Kelcey….

 

Blake: “What is going on?”

SiennaCastPic-Kelcey1Kelcey: “You know, life is what’s going on. Sometimes you think the answers to every question is in the palm of your hand, and when opening it, it’s not there, left blank when it is time and that is how I feel right now after Last Laugh. I failed Peyton, I should have been there in the corner, been a set of fresh eyes, instruct her when possible, maybe it would have made a difference, maybe it wouldn’t have, I don’t know. I failed Owen and Aaron, I failed Mr. D and Karina. I’m not going to wallow in pity, I refuse to say that my return was a mistake, I just need to figure out how to fix things, so Peyton is a champion again, maybe United States, who knows. So that Owen is back on top, so Aaron can reach the pinnacle to his success, and to tell Shaun to stop worrying about me, he is my best friend, and will go to the moon to protect me. In time though Blake it has to give, all of this, Sienna, Sierra, The Wonderland…..”

Blake: “We need to keep fighting, it is the only way they will not win. I always said from the very beginning you’re the best of us.”

Kelcey: “Far from it, but I appreciate the vote of confidence. I am trying here, to make the right decisions, to do the right thing, I love SCW, I love Mr. D and what he has done for me. I love my kids in the Perfect Pack, they are the future and right now I feel like I am not paving the way for them.”

 

Blake could relate, feeling futile at times, it was a hard pill to swallow. He has questioned his abilities, doubted his guile and grit, finding himself at times wondering what is next. He has always been a good man that hasn’t always done the just thing. Reaching over he gently rubs her hand prompting Kelcey to turn, locking into her mesmerizing blue eyes…

 

Blake: “I feel like I am there at every stage of my life, always failing, coming up short, messing up the lives of others, I have done it so many times that I am reaping what I am sowing now. There comes a time when enough is simply enough, though I don’t know when the last knot on my rope is. For you Kelcey, it is different, you have always been resilient. One of the traits I admire most about you, is the ability to fix what is broken, I always seem to fall short on that. Peyton, Owen and Aaron know how much you care, how much they value your knowledge and skills, the talent possessed and how you make them better, like you do every person that is around you, especially me.”

 

She smiles…

 

Kelcey: “You have always put me on this pedestal, even at times when you looked to knock me off. The reason I came to stay here is because I wanted to get away and talk to you.”

Blake: “I am always listening.”

Kelcey: “William…. You hurt me, and it has taken me years to get those ill feeling to finally be put to rest. I remember the look on your face, the violence between the two of us, the matches we had, the night you hurt Chris and Sienna…. Me. I saw a side of you I never knew existed, and at the same time I want to say that a lot of it was influence, I know it was, and there is always going to be a redemption story, take Chris for example.”

Blake: “I think all of us at some point have reached a place where we have to accept the actions, embarrassing, humiliating, degrading, or not and learn to live with those consequences whatever they maybe.”

Kelcey: “Then I think about the small things, after all that was over how you quickly came to apologize to me, how you were instrumental in trying to help anyway you could, behind the scenes, you have always been a better man, one that behind the cameras is genuine and honest. I have done it as well; I have turned my back on people in the pursuit of gold and it cost me as well. We have all made our mistakes, and we need to move on.”

 

Slowly nodding, Blake lowers his head, he understands what she is trying to say….

 

Kelcey: “I remember the first time I came on this yacht, I was drunk thanks to Taylor, July 4, what like almost 8 years ago? I remember more than I should, on that night, you told me something that I never admitted to hearing, thinking I had already fallen asleep, it was the first time you said, “I love you” to me.”

 

His eyes widen, he thought Kelcey had passed out already but apparently, she did hear him say it and she never acknowledged it….

 

Blake: “You were awake?”

Kelcey: “Long enough to hear that, yes. I didn’t say anything because I was scared shitless. It was a different time then, the Perfect World, and we were all business associates, I wasn’t really into serious relationships, I mean I was sleeping with men and women back then, I was in my early twenties, free spirit, all I cared about was Perfection, I don’t need to explain myself really, you knew.”

Blake: “Yes, and that was one of the reasons I was so attracted to you, as were so many others.”

Kelcey: “Thing is Blake, right before Last Laugh, Scott came up to me and said he wanted us to split, he felt that I belonged with someone else.”

Blake: “Chris.”

 

She didn’t say anything, instead half smiled and continued to speak….

 

Kelcey: “Scott has a powerful love for one woman, that is Taylor Chase. He and Taylor were meant for each other and they have started talking again thanks to Chris. I respect that, so I started to look for a place and move out, most of my personal stuff is still in Orlando, but I am not planning to move there as Nathaniel needs his father, and Chris will always be a part of my life no matter what. I can’t take his son away so far. I had options, what I could do, being single, and what you said to me, what you gave me has always been leaning heavily on my mind since Thanksgiving.”

Blake: “I understand, you love Chris.”

Kelcey: “I will always love Chris, he gave me my son, and the marriage we had, while rocky at times, where we BOTH made a lot of mistakes, in the end, he was the man I always believed he would be and not the one that went with Sienna. Chris has his life, he is happy, and going over to his house, seeing what I saw, I am content with what he is doing, and I am proud of him. There are so many times I have been told that I needed to make decisions for me, and stop worrying about everyone else, and that is exactly what I need to do. I have contemplated just living alone for a while, be with my son, concentrate on him and it will also help me focus more on the Perfect Pack, Mr. D, Karina and everything else going on in the SCW. Then part of me wants to just do what I know I probably should have done a long time ago.”

Blake: “What is that?”

Kelcey: “Look where we are William. Full circle. The first time you told me I love you was on this hammock, on this yacht, I was 24 years old. A pup, a woman who barely had her life in order, and sometimes I feel that way again. That is why I made a decision…..”

 

She reaches into her chest and takes out the engagement ring, Blake’s eyes widen as she opens his hand and places it gently on his palm….

 

Kelcey: “Making this type of commitment takes a lot of courage and careful thought especially after all that we have been through, put each other through whether it was the good times or the bad. I need stability in my life, and at times all I feel is betrayal. The men I have loved, all hurt me, but to what extend can I say I was the victim where there will always be cause and effect. Blake, I think about Cameron and Taylor Chase, Rachel Tatum Lee, Bree Lancaster and so many others who have walked down this pathway with you only to be left broken hearted and why?”

Blake: “You. It was always supposed to be you.”

Kelcey: “I know, and that is why I have to tell you no.”

Blake: “I understand.”

 

As he slowly stands up, Kelcey grabs his hand and stands up with him….

 

Kelcey: “No, I meant not like this.”

Blake: “I don’t understand.”

Kelcey: “Ask me again.”

 

His eyes widen before nodding, getting down to one knee and looking right up to Kelcey’s perfect facial features….

 

Blake: “Will you marry me?”

Kelcey: “Yes.”

Blake: “Yes!?”

 

She smiles, Blake quickly puts the ring on her finger before she is seen cupping her hands on his face as he stands back up….

 

Kelcey: “Yes!”

 

Blake lifts her up and spins Kelcey around before putting her down…..

 

Blake: “SHE SAID YES!!!”

 

Other members in the marina look over and cheer as Blake gazes into her eyes before sharing a kiss. An eight-year journey that is finally complete.

 

SCENE FADES

Leave a comment